7 membersMore than 26 years after she first won election to local office in Madison, Wis., Tammy Baldwin today was sworn in to the United States Senate, becoming the first openly gay American ever to serve in the upper chamber of Congress.

“Now we can officially call her Senator Tammy Baldwin. LGBT Americans have finally broken through a glass ceiling that held firm for more than two centuries,” said Chuck Wolfe, president and CEO of the Victory Fund, which has supported Baldwin’s political campaigns for more than 20 years.

At the other end of the Capitol, a record six openly gay, lesbian and bisexual House members took the oath of office along with their new colleagues.  Reps. Jared Polis, D-Colo., and David Cicilline, D-R.I., returned to the chamber for their third and second terms, respectively.  Joining them are newly-elected Reps. Kyrsten Sinema, D-Ariz., Mark Takano, D-Calif., Mark Pocan, D-Wis., and Sean Patrick Maloney, D-N.Y.

“Today LGBT Americans gained powerful, authentic voices on Capitol Hill who will fight for true equality for all, and Congress became more representative of our country,” said Wolfe.  ”We could not be more proud of these seven exceptional men and women.”

The Gay & Lesbian Victory Institute is throwing a celebratory reception to honor these lawmakers on Friday, Jan. 4, in Washington, D.C.  For more information about the Victory Congressional Celebration or to purchase tickets, click here.