iwamotoThe Gay & Lesbian Leadership Institute has announced its 2010 class of David Bohnett Gay & Lesbian Leadership Fellows, a group of 10 openly LGBT leaders who will receive scholarships to attend the Harvard Kennedy School this summer.  Two groups of five Bohnett Leadership Fellows will attend the school’s three-week Senior Executives in State and Local Government program for mid-career professionals in June and July.

Chuck Wolfe, GLLI’s president and CEO, said the new Fellows have deep and varied experience in public service as elected and appointed officials, and as leaders in the LGBT movement.  ”We are proud to work alongside the David Bohnett Foundation to invest in the leadership capacity of some of our community’s brightest and most talented people,” Wolfe said.

The 2010 Bohnett Leadership Fellows class includes:

Hon. Kim Iwamoto–Ms. Iwamoto (pictured) is the highest-ranking openly transgender elected official in the United States and the first out transgender candidate to win statewide office.  She is a member of the Hawaii Board of Education, representing the island of Oahu.

Hon. Nicole LeFavour–Sen. LeFavour is the first openly LGBT member of the Idaho state legislature, and currently serves as a member of the Idaho Senate.

Barry Pack–Mr. Pack is Oregon’s Deputy Secretary of State, managing the day-to-day operation of the seven divisions of the Secretary of State’s office.  He has held a variety of positions in state and local government as well as in non-profit organizations. From 1998-2003 he served as Chief of Staff for the Senate Democrats in the Oregon Legislature.

John Szabo–Mr. Szabo is Director of the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System.  He previously served as director of the Clearwater (Florida) Public Library System from 1999-2005 and as director of two smaller library systems.

Hon. Patrick Wojahn–Councilmember Wojahn is an elected member of the City Council of College Park, Maryland.

Hon. Joel Burns–Councilmember Burns represents District 9 on the Fort Worth City Council.  He has served on the Fort Worth Zoning Commission, the City of Fort Worth Historic and Cultural Landmark Commission, the Tarrant County Housing Partnership (as board secretary) and Historic Fort Worth, Inc.

Roberta Conroy–Ms. Conroy was appointed in 2009 to the Board of Administration of the Los Angeles City Employees’ Retirement System by Mayor Antonio R. Villaraigosa.

Hon. Frank Ferri–Rep. Ferri has represented the 22nd District in the Rhode Island House of Representatives since 2007.

Hon. Jonathon Lack–Judge Lack, appointed in 2007, serves as the Superior Court Master and District Court Magistrate in the Alaska court system.  Prior to his appointment, he worked for former Sen. Ted Stevens and as Chief of Staff for state Rep. Andrew Halcro of Anchorage before opening his own private law office.

Ian Palmquist–Mr. Palmquist is Executive Director of Equality North Carolina and Chair of the Board of Directors of the Equality Federation.

Learn more about what GLLI’s Bohnett Leadership Fellows experience in the program in this article in Harvard Kennedy School’s magazine.